emerald city: quest for emma stone’s jacket

So, it’s awards-show season. Which wouldn’t typically be something we chat about on the blog here, except for one thing:

emma stone gucci 2012 people's choice awards

Can. we. talk. about. this? Now, I know the People’s Choice Awards aren’t the Globes or the big-O Oscars – and you wouldn’t catch me watching them (oh no, not me, I just ogle the fashion and beauty the following day) – but we can pretty safely assume that celebs tend to save their prettiest gowns for the latter two.

BUT. I am all for a lady tux, particularly when it’s done in such a fresh and modern way. No ruffles or bowties here. Miss Emma just leaves it all loose and uncomplicated, paired with a perfect perfect cigarette pant (the undone red buttons are killing me – in a good way.)

The real scene-stealer and look-maker is of course the emerald green satin jacket, which could easily have taken a Sgt. Pepper/leprechaunian turn-for-the-worse if she hadn’t kept everything else so elegant.

Brights are big for spring, and this particular shade (the most spring-like of them all) has me on a hunt to find an affordable, everyday version of this gem.

The problem is, green blazers can very easily steer toward this:

lucky charms leprechaun

Or this:

masters jacket tiger woods mike nichelson

Um, no thanks. (Though I am loving Tiger’s green + pink combo.)

A few other options, perhaps?

green jacket nanette lepore alice + olivia

{ Alice + Olivia Elysee Blazer, $386 }          {Nanette Lepore Contest Jacket, $398}

These two are not all that affordable – and a far cry from the Gucci gorgeous-ity Emma wore – but definitely fit the “everyday” throw-it-on-with-jeans-and-your-Cons bill. They are lacking a little something; I’d swap the buttons for something punchy and metallic.

green jacket wool 3.1 phillip lim

This one, on the other hand, is totally hitting the mark. Structured, unfussy and collarless. And totally not even in the realm of my bank account. Be careful though: even Phillip Lim is dangerously close to leprechaun territory with the matching pants. Why, oh why, create a matching pant?

It’s not the pants per se, just the matchiness. I’m kind of considering these J. Crew crops, in case I don’t make the Masters this year I can’t find the jacket.

j crew capri green emerald

Photos: Emma Stone | Tiger & Mike | Lucky Charms

1 Response to “emerald city: quest for emma stone’s jacket”


  1. 1 Inge January 17, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    I definitely like a green blazer or pants, I’m actually a fan of the last pair your posted. I do agree with you though, green pants and a green blazer is just too much. I don’t think it’s the new jeans, but I might consider buying one in spring.

    fashionenvie.wordpress.com


Leave a comment




Join 23 other subscribers
© Heather Watterworth 2006 - 2012

Creative Commons License
Heart Heather is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.